For controlling electronic waste


In our present world of electronics. Today’s technology is tomorrow’s dust. For the past decade there has been a huge development in the field of cell phones. Starting from Camera, Radio, Infrared, Bluetooth, WiFi etc. But were thus the people reuse the mobile when a mobile has been abandoned. A report says that only 10% of the mobile phones are reused to the second hand. I recently done a small idea with one of my old mobile phone which for time being purpose for e-waste control. I presently have a Nokia phone with decent features of music player and camera. I also have a Basic mobile set of LG which is helpful only for messaging and simple data transfer such as bmp files of 128*128 which can be used as its wallpaper for mobile via messaging. This is one of the abandoned mobile which is present in my home because it goes to sale just for 300 rupees which is approximately $6(U.S) today(Date I am writing this blog post-(18.05.2012)). The basic mobile set of L.G was bought by my dad in the year 2007 for about 2500 rupees which is $50(U.S) Selling a mobile phone to approximately 10% is the only way but the battery was in perfect condition and more than many things, This mobile phone “doesn’t hang”. So, I simply planted a small idea to recycle the phone by using it at the time period of when we need less features for mobile for the particular period of time. For the past twenty days I was trying only this. I was having study leave for semester exams and I was only at home for most days. So there is no need for mobile camera since digital camera is the substitute for that in my home. For this reason I replaced the SIMCard of my Nokia phone to the basic mobile set where there is a need only for messaging and I was happy using it :-). I actually love using this mobile as I took initiative to control e waste to some extent. Then what I did with the Nokia phone? you may ask. I used it as a portable multimedia device for watching videos. After the end of the study leave I replaced the SIMCard in my Nokia phone  and I will wait for another time like this. It might sound silly for some people but I made it to make a useful thing out of abandoned things. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “For controlling electronic waste

  1. Good job! I am a firm believer in getting the most use possible out of everything. There is entirely too much waste in this world today soyYour idea is good.

Leave a Reply

